Library databases are searchable collections of information. They contain articles from quality journals, magazines, and newspapers and other academic information resources.
ATU subscribes to several databases, and your choice will depend entirely on your information needs. This LibGuide focuses on those databases with good content in the area of Applied Social Care.
The Library's discovery system and default search, SEARCH + FIND, will include much material from our subscribed databases, so searching here is always a good place to start. However SEARCH + FIND does not cover every single database, so it is important to have a look at each database individually and to become familiar with how to search them. List of databases.
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, zoology, and many more
OmniFile Full Text Mega provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals. Coverage goes back as early as 1982 and ensures that every search is as deep as it is broad. Users have access to information on virtually any subject. Subject areas include - Education - Science - Humanities - Social Sciences - Applied Science & Technology - Art - Literature - Agriculture
Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. The Journal Backfiles consists of a historical archive of over four million articles going back from 1994 as far as 1823.
The IRISH TIMES ONLINE Archive gives GMIT patrons access to the searchable archive of articles dating back to 1859, the first year of publication. The last 12 months of archives are free to access.
The archive contains both a digital version of the newspaper back to 1859 and a text version of articles back to 1996. There is a week’s delay from publication in the digital version being uploaded to the archive.
The Digital Edition is an exact electronic copy of The Irish Times newspaper in the format of the print issue.
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
A one-stop site hosting journals, eBooks, abstract databases and reference works published by Taylor & Francis from their medical, social sciences and humanities collections
During the academic year the library provides free trials of databases. They may be new or offering their content on a time limited basis. Check the library Libguide for Free Trials
Or check our Facebook, Blog or Twitter accounts for information on the trials as they come up. You might just find exactly what you need.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.