Skip to main content

Architectural Technology: Books & eBooks

Finding Books in the Library

Each book that GMIT libraries acquire is assigned a Dewey number that identifies its subject matter. This number can be found on the spine of the book. As Dewey is a numerical system the books are arranged on the shelves in numerical order.

The following is an outline of the Dewey numbers that are relevant to architectural technology.

620.00420285     CAD
690            Building & Construction
690.0285    BIM
720            Architecture
720.2840285536  Architectural drawing


001-499 & 700-999 are on the Ground Floor
500-699 are on the First Floor

Classification - how books are shelved

Summary of Collections

General              

Students can borrow these books for one week. Books can be renewed twice (online or at the desk) if they have not been requested by other patrons.

Desk Reserve

For use in the library only: for a maximum of three hours. A fine of 50c per hour or part thereof is incurred if a book is not returned on time, items cannot be renewed.

Reference

Reference material is for viewing in the library only. You will find an array of language dictionaries, thesaurus and encyclopaedias in this section.

Government Publications          

Materials in this section are for viewing in the library only. They are boxed according to their prearranged number within alphabetically labelled boxes.

Search Google Books

Browsing Books and eBooks

Search for books and ebooks in Search + Find, our library discovery service.

When you find the book you want you’ll see a shelf number for print books, this will help you find it in the library. For ebooks, simply click on the link to read it online or download it (you’ll need a library PIN to do this).

 

Search + Find

 

If you know what you're looking for, then use the authors' surname and a word or two from the title: try to choose unique ones.  For instance, type in stroud engineering mathematics.

Alternatively, you can search using subject words: try starting with engineering mathematics and use the filter in the left-hand column to narrow down your search.

Remember to be as specific as possible when searching for a topic. [Search + Find Help]

Check out these Study Skills Books

eBook Collections

eBooks, electronic version of a printed books which can be read online are available from several different sources, you can search individual collections by clicking on the collection title below or search all collections using Search + Find.

 

Ebrary's Academic Complete Collection

Our biggest collection, providing access to more than 128,000 individual titles across most disciples.

   

 

DawsonEra

This collection includes 200 ebooks which we currently own or rent.

   

 

MyiLibrary

Finding eBooks

We have a large number of ebooks for students, staff and researchers in Engineering: when you find one in Search + Find or the Library Catalogue, simply click the link provided and log in using your name, ID and PIN.

Need Help?

Download ebooks on loan

Search, find and use ebrary ebooks

 

Email us: library@gmit.ie

Call us: +353 (091) 742785

Ask us: Staff are here to help!

Can't Find What You Are Looking For?

We have thousands of books, journal articles and reports in print and online but we don't have access to everything. So, if you find that we don’t hold an item that you need, you can use our Inter-Library Loans service. This service provides access to books and journal articles which are held at other libraries in the Ireland and overseas.

Recommend a Book

Found a book we haven't got that you think should be part of our collection?

Just email us the details.

Connect with Us

FacebookBlogTwitterYouTube

Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie