Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.
There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects.
Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for, it's a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes a large number of our collections. You must bear in mind however that Search + Find does not cover every single database, so it is important to have a look at each database individually and to become familiar with how to search them.
Search + Find
Provide access to Knowledge Workspace, for Occupational Health Service Safety Information and The Irish Construction Information Service (CIS) Plus; a tool to access current regulations, technical advice and industry news on building, engineering, design and construction processes in the UK and Ireland.
Full text access to IEEE content published since 1988 and selected content published between 1872 -1988. It includes IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, conference proceedings, published standards, Standards Dictionary Online and IET journals and conference proceedings.
Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. The Journal Backfiles consists of a historical archive of over four million articles going back from 1994 as far as 1823.
A multidisciplinary database, subject coverage includes Accounting & Finance, Economics, HR & Organizational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing and Strategy.
Accumulating over 2,900 journals, spanning all subject areas, Springer continues to be the leading research source that is read, referenced and written by experts in the field.
A tool designed for building professionals to help prepare top level cost plans, provide early cost advice to clients and benchmark costs for both commercial and residential buildings.
Includes all Springer Computer Sciences eBooks
The library is pleased to provide access to selected free trials during term time on campus, see free trials to avail of our current trials.
Archiseek - information on Irish architecture
Irish Architectural Archive - collects and preserves the records of Irish architecture
National Inventory of Architectural Heritage (NIAH) - identify, record, and evaluate the post-1700 architectural heritage of Ireland
Paddi - planning architecture design database Ireland