Skip to main content

Databases: Home

About

Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects so are useful for multi-disciplinary topics and topics that don't fit a specific subject.

Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for, it's a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes a large number of our collections.

Accessing e-Resources

Most of the library e-resources are searchable using Search + Find.

Type in your keywords, when you find the article or document you want, click on its title. You will need to login using your GMIT email address and network password. This will bring you into the e-resource where you can view or print the article.

 

Search + Find

The following databases are not searchable using Search + Find, you must search them separately:

BSOL: British Standards Online
Info4Education
Irish Newspaper Archive
The Irish Times Online
OECDiLibrary

 

A-Z

1840 Ordnance Survey 6 inch maps for Galway 
BAILII   
Barmenus.com  Accept Security Exception with Firefox
Businesspost.ie    Password Required contact library - Remember to Logout!
E-Packs - Frech For Beginners     Password Required please contact library
Ingenta     
INIS  
OECDiLibrary     
SportDiscus      
Taxfind      Password Required off Campus contact library
Zut! - French Language Skills      Password required from 9am-5pm
Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie