eBooks are books in digital format that can be read using devices such as pcs, tablets, e-Readers and smartphones. The main advantage of eBooks is their online availability, users are not dependent on the library opening times, you can access an eBook 24/7, provided you are authorised to do so.
The availability of eBooks will be dependent on many different characteristics such as host, publisher, licence agreement, library access model. E-formats will vary, there is no service that can provide all eBooks in the same manner, and GMIT users will notice this with the library's eBook collection.
The majority of eBooks at GMIT may be read online, and some can be downloaded by staff and students, using the usual authorisation method of keying your user ID and password. Many of the eBook hosts such as Ebsco, DawsonEra, and Proquest Ebrary will allow GMIT users to create personal accounts with which you login in order to read online or download an eBook.
These are some of the eBook Hosts or platforms which you will encounter when searching our eBooks collection. You don't have to specify a particular host when searching but sometimes it helps to be aware of the product names.
|Ebsco's eBook Academic Collection and Business eBook Collection|
|The general Ebsco Academic collection includes tens of thousands of e-books covering a large selection of multidisciplinary academic subjects. For Business students we have access to the Business eBook collection, which offers thousands of e-books selected to assist students and scholars with various business research, special project and entrepreneurial needs, and to help students understand general business concepts, all with a user-friendly search experience and simple download process.
It is easy to recognise eBook titles when they are retrieved in your search results.
Here are some screen shots that may help you identify when you are looking at eBooks:
1. Search eBooks only from the library homepage:
2. Keyword Search OR Browse eBooks by Collection / Host (from the above link)
3. Ebooks link from a browse list / results list
4. Full Text links from a Search + Find Record:
The Library's default search engine Search + Find will enable you to locate only eBooks. Simply key your search terms and choose 'Ebooks Only' from the list of limiters on the left.
You can search for only eBooks using the search box below:
Apart from this LibGuide, GMIT Library has issued a few useful resources on using our eBooks.
We have an 'Finding Books and eBooks using Search + Find' YouTube tutorial which you may view any time.
All of the eBook hosts also provide comprehensive help resources on their respective sites: