Skip to main content

eResources: Databases, eBooks, eJournals: Databases

Information on the online collections available in GMIT

About

Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects so are useful for multi-disciplinary topics and topics that don't fit a specific subject.

Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for, it's a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes a large number of our collections.

Accessing e-Resources

Most of the library e-resources are searchable using Search + Find.

Type in your keywords, when you find the article or document you want, click on its title. You will need to login using your name, ID and PIN. This will bring you into the e-resource where you can view or print the article.

 

Search + Find

 

The following databases are not searchable using Search + Find, you must search them separately:

Info4Education
The Irish Times Online
OECDiLibrary

Useful Guide

A-Z

1840 Ordnance Survey 6 inch maps for Galway      more info icon
BAILII      more info icon
Barmenus.com      more info icon Accept Security Exception with Firefox
Biomed Central      more info iconSearch + Find
Businesspost.ie      more info icon Password Required contact library - Remember to Logout!
ChemSpider      more info icon
Coutts Oasis      more info iconSearch + Find
E-Packs - Frech For Beginners      more info icon Password Required please contact library
Emerald Archives      more info iconSearch + Find
Google Scholar      more info icon
GreenFILE      more info iconSearch + Find
Highwire      more info iconSearch + Find
Ingenta      more info iconSearch + Find
INIS      more info icon
Medicines.ie      more info icon
OECDiLibrary      more info icon
Omnifile Fulltext      more info iconSearch + Find
Pub Med      more info icon
Science Direct     more info iconSearch + Find
Taylor & Francis      more info iconSearch + Find
Taxfind      more info icon Password Required off Campus contact library
Web of Science      more info iconSearch + Find
Zut! - French Language Skills      more info icon Password required from 9am-5pm
Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie