Skip to main content

eResources: Databases, eBooks, eJournals: Repositories

Information on the online collections available in GMIT

CUAL

Research@THEA

Is an open-access repository that was established in 2017. It was launched as a service for capturing, storing, preserving and showcasing the research output of all the Institutes of Technology in Ireland, whilst also providing a platform for their researchers/academic staff and students to publish and promote their work.

The Research@THEA repository is a free gateway to academic and qualitative research that can be accessed electronically at http://research.thea.ie/. Here, you can search the entire collections/research output of all the Institutes of Technology in a single search or alternatively you can opt to search the research from a single Institute using the Institute's individual site.

What Can be Deposited in Research@THEA?

Research@THEA accepts the following scholarly materials:

  • Ph.D., Research/Taught Theses.
  • Research papers.
  • Book/Book chapters, Book reviews.
  • Journal Articles.
  • Technical Reports.
  • Working & Conference papers.
  • Any other scholarly materials.

Repositories

Rian is the repository that combines the research and higher theses of 16 individual repositories (including CUAL) alongside the seven Irish Universities and other research bodies including Teagasc and the HSE. Users can search RIAN by keywords, institution, funding body or item type, to include dissertations and theses.

 

Use the BASE search engine (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) to find material by author, title, subject heading or publisher. You can also use BASE to find material type theses (amongst others).

 

 

DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs), and they participate in advocacy to influence future European e-theses developments.

 

 

The Digital Commons Network is one of the biggest repositories in the academic world, bringing together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

 

Open Access theses and dissertations OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,118,320 theses and dissertations.


There are many other open access resources available, and all includes theses and dissertations as a content type.

About Repositories

The number of institutional repositories is growing rapidly. 

Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) and the Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR).

Benefits

Publishing in Open Access repositories, such as Research@THEA, offers a number of valued benefits for students, researchers, and staff:

  1. Improved visibility of your research.
  2. Persistent link to your research.
  3. Preservation of your research.
  4. Detailed usage statistics for your research.
  5. Fulfills the OA mandate required by many funding agencies.

Connect with Us

FacebookBlogTwitterYouTube

Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie