Skip to main content

Humanities: Databases

About Databases

Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.

There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects.

Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for, it's a good idea to start with MutliSearch because it indexes a large number of our collections. You must bear in mind however that MultiSearch does not cover every single database, so it is important to have a look at each database individually and to become familiar with how to search them.

Tips

Search the eJournals List if you know the title of the journal, newspaper, or magazine.

Watch this short video on how to make the most of the library’s e-resources specifically focusing on utilising resources not indexed in MultiSearch.

Free Trials

The library is pleased to provide access to selected free trials during term time on campus, see free trials to avail of our current trials.

Search Google Scholar

Key Humanities Databases

 JSTOR          ActivePaper Archive logo image         
 
This is an interdisciplinary collection of current and ceased journals of Irish interest.
Notable titles include:
  • History Ireland,
  • Analecta Hibernica 
  • Journal of the Galway Archaeological and Historical Society
 
 A full text, searchable archive of over 40 Irish newspapers, both national and regional titles including:
  • Freeman's Journal (1763 - 1924)
  • Irish Independent (1905 - to date)
  • Connacht Tribune (1909 - to date)
  • Tuam Herald (1837 - to date)

 

Dictionary of National Biography        

The most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary for Ireland. It contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles of subjects in all areas of public life including politics, law, religion, literature, art, music, drama, science, engineering, entertainment and sport.

Other Humanities Databases

          
     british and irish archaeological bibliography
                                                        
                                                                          
A collaborative project between NUIG, GMIT and Galway County Libraries gives access to the 1840 Orndnace Survey maps for Galway. They can be searched under towns, townlands or monuments.
 

Academic Search Complete                                                                                                                                               This comprehensive database includes more than 8,000 fulltext journals. Coverage includes anthropology, geography, religion and philosophy as well as general science and engineering.

 

Over 200,000 references and abstracts covering all aspects of archaeology and the historic environment in Britain and Ireland.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Accessing Databases

https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3174/2964473159_cee0ab96d8_b.jpg

Most of the library databases are searchable using MultiSearch. Type in your keywords, when you find the article or document you want, click on its title. You will need to login using your name, ID and PIN. This will bring you into the database where you can view or print the article.

MultiSearch

 

The following databases are not searchable using MultiSearch, you must search them separately:

Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
The Irish Times Online

Need Help?

Bernie Lally
Contact:
Room 988
GMIT Library
Dublin Road
Galway
091 742781

Connect with Us

FacebookBlogTwitterYouTube

Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie