Skip to main content

Nursing: Books & eBooks

Guide to GMIT Library for students of Nursing

Print Books

The easiest way to locate print books in Moore Library is to use the search box located on most library web pages, Search + Find.

Library books are shelved according to subject area, using a numerical shelving system called the Dewey system. Relevant shelf numbers include:

  • 174.2 Occupational ethics - medical professions
  • 300.72 Research
  • 610 Medicine and health
  • 611 Human anatomy
  • 612 Human physiology
  • 615 Pharmacology and therapeutics
  • 616.89 Mental disorders
  • 808.02 Writing for academic purposes

When you do a search in Search + Find, it will tell you the shelf number where the book is located. Increasingly, it will also show the first three letters of the authors surname to make finding easier.

Please remember that books with shelf numbers from 001 to 699 are located on the ground floor of the Mayo campus library, and 700 to 999 are on the first floor.

Library Book Categories

Main Collection             

Most books in the library are in the main collection. Students may borrow up to four titles for one week at any one time.

Desk Reserve Collection

This section is located behind the Information Desk for use in the library only, for up to three hours.

Reference Collection

Reference material is located on the ground floor. This material cannot be checked out. You will find dictionaries, thesaurai and encyclopedias in this section.

Government Publications          

This material is located on the right hand side of the ground floor of the library.Government publications are for library use only. Many Government Publications are also available online.

Searching for Books and eBooks

Search for books and ebooks in Search + Find, our library discovery service. Proquest Ebook Central, 123Library, and Dawsonera are our three main eBook suppliers.

Search + Find

http://support.ebscohost.com/eit/scripts/ebscohostsearch.js"

Choose Keywords for your subject, or the author, or title name into the search box

For example, type in Parahoo Nursing Research or Sweet Maye's Midwifery. You can also search by subject by typing your terms into the search box; for example patient safety ; then use the filters in the left-hand column to narrow down your search.

Remember to be as specific as possible when searching for a topic.

Here is our Introduction to eBooks at GMIT Libraries for GMIT staff and students.

eBook Collections

Our largest collection, providing access to more than 128,000 individual titles across most disciplines, with a significant amount of Nursing related content. Examples include:

 

          


123Library contains 3 core Nursing eBooks that are also available in print.
Please read our LibGuide on eBooks for information on accessing the content from every host.

         


DawsonEra

This collection includes 200 ebooks (some Nursing-related) which the library currently owns or rents.

Some titles of interest to Nursing include:

             

 

         

Finding and Using eBooks

  • eBooks are books in digital format that can be read using many devices.
  • The main advantage of eBooks is their online availability
  • Users are not dependent on the library opening times,
  • You can access GMIT eBookS 24/7, provided you are a GMIT staff or student.

We have a large number of General and Psychiatric Nursing ebooks. When you find one in Search + Find or the classic catalogue, simply click the link provided and log in using your name, ID and PIN. You may read the content online or download the ebook for a particular loan period. Please refer to the general ebooks LibGuide for further information, or the GMIT Library guide to downloading eBooks.

Recommend a book

Do you know of a book you think should be part of our Nursing collections?

Just email us the details

Free eBooks

Free eBooks

There are many eBooks available on the internet for free. These tend to be scanned originals that are out of copyright such as those on Google Books.

Other free eBook resources include:

BookRags

Digital Book Index

Free-ebooks.net

Project
Gutenberg

Bookboon

Refdesk.com

OpenCulture

Get Free eBooks

Search Google Books

Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie