Skip to main content

Nursing: Databases

Guide to GMIT Library for students of Nursing

What are Library Databases?

Library databases are searchable electronic collections of articles and ebooks purchased by GMIT libraries to supplement the library print collections. There are so many databases because there is so much information. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects.

Databases contain a variety of articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers as well as other academic information resources.

This interactive guide focuses on Nursing (general and psychiatric). You may at times need to look at other database that don't seem relevant to your area of research or for a particular assignment.

Individual Databases

The Library's search engine, Search + Find, will return a lot of material from our subscribed databases. However, Search + Find does not cover every single database, so it is a good idea to look at each database individually and to become familiar with how to search them. Here is the full listing of individual databases.

Search Google Scholar

Key Nursing Databases

    

Health Source Nursing Academic Edition

Provided by EBSCOhost, this is the world's definitive scholarly nursing database, providing nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and also features abstracts and indexing for almost 850 other journals. Also included is Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Academic Search Complete

Also provided by EBSCOhost, and featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including all areas of Nursing.

CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

While CINAHL is an index to over 3000 journals from the fields of Nursing and Allied Health, there is also a susbstantial amount of full text content. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Full-text material includes more than 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.

 

medicines.ie is the most comprehensive source of information on medicinal products available in Ireland and is widely regarded as an invaluable reference source by healthcare professionals, the Department of Health and the Health Products Regulatory Authority.

 Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

 

Other databases with Nursing content:

Library Database Trials

During the academic year the library usually provides trials of databases that may be new or offering their content on a time limited basis. Check or Facebook, Blog or Twitter accounts for information on database trials as they come up. Their content may be invaluable to your own studies or research!

Searching Databases

Keyword searching is the default search in Search + Find and the library catalogue. Certain databases may offer advanced features (such as author, title, subject, date range, etc.) while others, like the Irish Times, will just have a single search box for your search words.

Once you perform a search you will get a list of results, it is usually easy to narrow them by date, document type (e.g. full text article, newspaper article etc.) subject area, publisher, and also by journal title and author when the list is not very large or general.

It is important when searching to be as specific as possible with your search terms. Broad, generic terms will yield too many results. You need to decide on and compile the most effective keywords for your research topic to get relevant hits or results. You probably want to find articles or news stories where you will broaden your knowledge of the subject matter and possibly lead to further successful database search sessions. This is how new knowledge builds on old and is a primal part of the research process.

For further information on searching databases please check out our LibGuides on Databases or the Advanced Database Searching tutorial on our Library YouTube channel, all linked from the library homepage

Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie