Skip to main content

Nursing: News Sources

Guide to GMIT Library for students of Nursing

Online Newspapers

The Library subscribes to the Irish Newspaper Archive. Many of Ireland's most prominent national and regional newspapers are digitised and indexed here, and include the full text of *The Connaught Telegraph, *The Mayo News,  *Irish Independent  and *Sunday Independent amongst others. Several titles date back to the 18th century so it is an immense resource for anyone looking for historical, social or business data.

Watch this short video on searching the Irish Newspaper Archives.

INMO Twitter Feed

Newspapers

Moore Library Mayo Campus subscribes to national and regional newspapers, that are available in the Library on a daily or weekly basis. Titles include:

Back issues of newspapers are discarded immediately.

Online Newspapers

World of Irish Nursing

Some Irish and UK online newspapers

Free listing of online newspapers in all countries in the world

 

Irish Times Digital Archive

GMIT Library provides access to the full archive of the Irish Times with over 150 years of Irish Times journalism, as it originally appeared in print. Searchable by keyword and date, GMIT patrons can view reproductions of every page of The Irish Times from 1859 to up to two weeks ago.

Search Tips to search the Irish Times archive

  1. To find an exact phrase place quotation marks around your search terms, e.g. "George Bernard Shaw".
  2. The archive will automatically return articles that include all of the search terms.
  3. The search results are automatically sorted by the oldest articles first; this can be changed to sort by the newest articles, or by the articles that closest match the search terms.
  4. Event names may have been coined after the event took place, e.g. World War I was known as the Great War. Try to search using words that describe the event or that may have been used in reports.
  5. Historically there was a tendency to describe people more formally, e.g. Mr. Yeats instead of William Butler Yeats. Initially, try to search by surname only and then refine the results.
  6. Remember that your supplements for Business or Property may have more of the information you require, those sections can be accessed individually under 'section' when you choose to 'Filter results by'.

 

Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie