Skip to main content

Nursing: Theses

Guide to GMIT Library for students of Nursing

Undergraduate Online Theses

From 2015 onwards all undergrad theses will be delivered to the Library via Sharepoint and will be available here. This listing will only be available to GMIT staff and students and may be accessed using your GMIT login and password. Please note the copyright restrictions associated with viewing files on this service.

Online Theses masters and above

CUAL Connaught-Ulster Alliance Libraries (research publishing inititiative)

Cual logo

GMIT Masters, Ph.Ds, and other categories of research can be submitted to the open access research repository CUAL, subject to authors' permission. Please see our separate Libguide on CUAL for further information on this.

Searching for Theses in the Library

If you wish to find a thesis in GMIT library on a particular topic, the library will recommend keying 'and thesis' in the search box with your search term, and selecting 'dissertation' in the content type filter. A search using the classic catalogue will work well for this type of content also.

Search + Find

Hard copy Theses

Print theses on the Mayo campus are for use in Moore Library only.

They include GMIT Mayo Campus's collection of Degree, Masters and Doctoral theses. The library has some theses that are relevant to Nursing. Patrons may check out up to three student theses from the information desk. Theses may be viewed in the library only for a period up to three hours, as per the Desk Reserve loan rule, and must be returned to the enquiry desk.

Theses are made available to students on a first come first served basis, reservations are not taken on this material category.

Non-GMIT theses, if not available electronically elsewhere,  may be requested through our Inter Library Loans department. Please note their availability will depend on the policies of the holding library and not GMIT.

Theses on open access

Further to the CUAL repository for all of GMIT published research and higher theses, alongside that of IOTs Sligo and Letterkenny, there are many open access repositories out there containing much of interest for Nursing students.

Lenus is Ireland’s foremost repository for health services research. It was launched in 2009 by the Regional Library & Information Service in Dr Steevens’ Hospital, Dublin. Lenus makes available the research output of the many organisations providing healthcare in the Republic of Ireland, along with their administrative, clinical and regulatory publications which together provide the background and context for Irish healthcare.

Rian is the repository that combines the research and higher theses of 16 individual repositories (including CUAL) alongside the seven Irish Universities and other research bodies including Teagasc and the HSE. Users can search RIAN by keywords, institution, funding body or item type, to include dissertations and theses.

EThOS Electronic Theses Online Service offers free access and full text to as many theses as possible of selected UK theses.

Use the BASE search engine (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) to find material by author, title, subject heading or publisher. You can also use BASE to find material type theses (amongst others)

 

Open Access theses and dissertations OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,118,320 theses and dissertations.

 

DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs), and they participate in advocacy to influence future European e-theses developments.

 

The Digital Commons network is one of the biggest repositories in the academic world, bringing together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

 

There are many other open access resources available, and all includes theses and dissertations as a content type. See our LibGuide on Open Access for further information.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — UK & Ireland

Using Theses/Dissertations 

Proquest Dissertations and Theses currently comprises over 500,000 records, with some additional 15,000 citations added annually. The United Kingdom and Ireland boast many of the world's leading research universities.

The collection offers:

  • Abstracts and some full text for content since 1986.
  • The most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.
  • Access to bibliographic coverage of theses produced by British and Irish universities.
  • Bibliographic listings for content for 1950-1986.
Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie