Skip to main content

Research & Postgraduate Students: Discovery

Search Our Collections


"Know where to find the information and how to use it –
That’s the secret of success"
Albert Einstein


Citation Searching

Citation searching allows you to follow the research path forward and backwards in time, enabling you to understand how a research area has developed.

Looking into the past: Look at the references at the end of the paper to recognize which papers and researchers the author read and cited.

Looking into the future: Discover who has cited the article since it was published (Times cited).

To do a citation search Choose a core article or book that will form the target of your search (in publication for at least a year). Then locate a citation index such as Web of Science or Academic Search Complete.


Example

Here's an example of a Web of Science search sequence using Diener, E. (1999) Subjective well-being: Three decades of progress, as the target book citation:

  1. Go to Web of Science.
  2. Open the drop down menu by 'Basic Search' and select the 'Cited Reference Search' option.
  3. Enter the name of your author (Diener, E) and the year of publication (1999).
  4. Select Search.
  5. You will see a list of items published by Diener in 1999, which have been cited in the bibliographies of the articles in the database.
  6. Select the entries that correspond to your target and then select 'Finish Search'.
  7. Have a look at articles in the results list and use the mark feature to save them in a list of useful references.

Information Sources

Library Databases

• To search the literature more fully, you should explore individual databases by searching the A-Z list of library databases. Using the databases provided by the Library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

• We subscribe to over 30 databases, some are dedicated to a single subject others cover several subjects. It's important to note that most of our subscriptions are selective: we typically subscribe to only a portion of the content available on a given site. Just as we don't purchase copies of every book and journal in print, we don't subscribe to every e-book or online journal available!

• There are a number of search strategies and techniques to help you retrieve relevant search results – including truncation and nesting - come to an advanced database training session to learn more.

Principal Library Databases:
Science Direct       
Web of Science     
Westlaw     

For more information and a full list of all our e-Resources see:

Search + Find

• Search + Find is the librarys’ simple and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collections.

• Search + Find is a good place to start your research

• Use Search + Find to find the many information sources that will encompass information relevant to your research.

• Search through a massive collection of books, journals, newspaper articles, e-journals, e-books, theses, conference proceedings and more.


Type your search terms here for a quick keyword search:

 

When you find the item you want you'll see its shelf number, this will help you find it in the library. For online items, like eBooks, click on the link to read it online or download it!

e-Journals

Search for Journal Titles
 


Browse Journal Titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

 

e-Books

An e-book is a book in digital format, they can be read online on a wide variety of devices anytime, anywhere!

Search Our e-Book Collection

 

Search Google Scholar

Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie