Skip to main content

Science: Databases

What are Databases?

The library databases are online collections of journal articles and other documents on various subjects.

Databases contain a rich array of quality journal, magazine, newspaper articles and other academic information resources.

GMIT subscribes to several databases, and your choice will depend entirely on your information needs. This guide focuses on databases that cover science topics, at other times you may need to look at databases that focus on other areas of research for a particular assignment.

Top Health Databases

CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

 

Health Source Nursing Academic focuses on many medical disciplines, coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.

British National Formulary - BNF gives guidance on the actions and uses of drugs prescribed in the UK.

Top Science Databases

                       

ScienceDirect contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and medicine. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. The Journal Backfiles consists of a historical archive of over four million articles going back from 1994 as far as 1823.

 

The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search.

 

Academic Search Complete Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many more.

 

Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 16,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

Searching Databases

Most of the library databases are searchable using the Multisearch search box on the library website. That’s the first search box you see. When you find the article or document you want, click on its title. This will bring you to the database where you can view or print the article.

MultiSearch

 
 

You can also use the databases button on the library website to go directly to a specific database.

The following databases are not searchable using MultiSearch, you must search them separately:

 

Your Subject Librarian

Catherine McTigue
Contact:
GMIT Library, Dublin Rd, Galway
091 742783
Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie