Skip to main content

Tourism and Arts: Databases

Welcome to your subject guide for tourism & arts

About Databases

Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects.

Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for, it's a good idea to start with MutliSearch because it indexes a large number of our collections.

Tips

Search the eJournals List if you know the title of the journal, newspaper, or magazine.

Watch this short video on how to make the most of the library’s e-resources specifically focusing on utilising resources not indexed in Search + Find.

Key Tourism & Arts Databases

 
An insider look at global food trends from thefoodpeople. This resource offers a range of food trend indicators and insights. It includes worldwide menu analytics, food media monitoring and industry opening ideas.
 
Please note: This resource must be searched separately. It cannot be searched through Search + Find.

An online application to service the hospitality industry, this resource allows you to create cocktail menus and promote bar sales through marketing.
 
Please note: This resource must be searched separately. It cannot be searched through Search + Find.

Publisher of journals in management and information services and applied science and technology.


Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource. It contains over 13000 indexed journals covering the social and physical sciences, the arts, medicine and theology. Its broad scope makes it an excellent research tool for all disciples.  

Leading information solution for students, researchers and academics. It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field

Accessing Databases

Most of the library databases are searchable using Search + Find. Type in your keywords, when you find the article or document you want, click on its title. You will need to login using your name, ID and PIN. This will bring you into the database where you can view or print the article.

Search + Find

 

The following databases are not searchable using Search + Find, you must search them separately:

Need Help?

Email us: library@gmit.ie

Call us: +353 (091) 742785

Ask us: Staff are here to help!

Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie