Skip to main content

Free Trials: Home

Access On Campus

 

Trials are available on campus (unless stated) in Galway, CCAM, Mayo & Letterfrack.

Trial Recommendation

We welcome recommendations, just email us with the title of the online resource you wish the library to trial.

Let Us Know What You Think

We welcome any feedback you may have on our trials.

Need Help?

 

Email us: Library@gmit.ie

Call us: +353 (091) 742785

Ask us: Staff are here to help!

 

Connect with Us

Current Trials

 

Film Platform is an innovative collaboration between some of the leading filmmakers and sales agents around the world to bring the finest documentary films to an academic audience. Our international selection of films introduce new concepts, expose students to fresh perspectives, and enhance classroom discussions. Through these films people and ideas from the most far-flung, inaccessible corners of the world can be brought straight into the classroom to challenge and engage your students.

Film Platform serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing students and professors the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. We aim to bring these important stories to the forefront of the global academic conversation. Our collection is meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and our catalogue is continually growing.

 

The Film Platform trial is available on campus until the 16th February 2020.

 

 

Film and Television Literature Index with full text is the pinnacle resource for researchers of film and television, providing the most comprehensive, balanced collection of full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies.

Content Includes:

  • More than 160 full-text journals
  • More than 160 full-text books
  • Indexing and abstracts for nearly 560 journals
  • Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 270 journals
  • Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914
  • More than 63,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive

 

Subjects Include:

  • Cinematography
  • Film and television theory
  • Preservation and restoration
  • Production Reviews
  • Technical aspects
  • Screenwriting

 

The Film and Television Literature Index with full text trial is available on and off campus until the end of February 2020.

 

 

Find resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions using SAGE Research Methods

Explore this innovative online resource created to help students and researchers across the social, behavioral, and health sciences to design research projects, understand methods or identify new methods, conduct research, and write up their findings.

 

The SAGE Research Methods trial is available on-campus until the end of February 2020.

 

 

Based on the work of expert Stella Cottrell, international bestselling author of The Study Skills Handbook, this interactive resource will help you improve and develop your study skills at your own pace. Each module has been carefully designed so you can assess your current proficiency, track your progress, become more confident and get the most out of your course.

 

Skills for Study helps students to develop the skills they need to succeed in their studies by offering e-learning modules on:

  • Writing skills
  • Referencing and understanding plagiarism
  • Reading and note-making
  • Critical thinking
  • Exam skills
  • Time Management
  • … and more

 

How do you access it?

  • Click on the skills4studycampus link and click on ‘Login’ in the top right hand corner
  • Click on the orange ‘Institutional Login’ button and type Galway
  • Click on ‘Galway-Mayo institute of Technology’ and register
  • You are now registered; you will see your name in the top right-hand corner of the toolbar
  • Choose a module and start learning or improving you study skills

 

We recommend that you choose the most appealing module for you and take the diagnostic test. This will help you assess your strengths and spot any weaknesses in your skills that may affect your grades. 

The results of the diagnostic test will show you the sections that may be most useful to you for that module, based on the responses you gave in the test. They are arranged in order of priority.

The activities are designed to appeal to a variety of learning styles, if you prefer to listen to material rather than reading it, click on the audio icon at the top-left of the screen.

The resource is your personal study area, and what you do on the resource cannot be seen by anyone else. This includes your responses in the diagnostic tests, the interactions and activities, and any journal entries you make.

 

The skills4studycampus trial is available on campus until the 29th February 2020.

 

 

Statista is one of the world‘s largest statistics portals with more than 1 million statistics from over 22,500 sources (including both national and international data). With:

  • Over 80,000 topics in 177 multidisciplinary categories, ranging from agriculture to media and marketing 
  • Market data, consumer behaviour, demographics and opinion polls 
  • Digital Market Outlook & Consumer Market Outlook
  • 4,500 Statista Dossiers and Industry Reports
  • 41,000 studies & reports from third parties

 

Global Consumer Survey helps to understand consumer behavior and their interaction with brands in the online and offline world. With:

  • 50+ topics & industries
  • 46 countries
  • 400,000+ consumers
  • 5,000+ brands

Checkout this short tutorial.

You have on-campus access to Statista & Global Consumer Survey until the end of March 2020.

Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409
Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666
library@gmit.ie