Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversifying Your Library: Home

Diversifying Your Library

 

We aim to foster an inclusive community, where all staff and students feel and have an equal opportunity to succeed.

Embedding the principles of equality, diversity and inclusion across our University is one of the priorities set out in the University's Strategic Plan 2019-23.

 

The purpose of striving to diversify the library is to ensure that people who are marginalised by society’s perspectives – for example, by race, ethnicity, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, physical ability, or socioeconomic class – are better represented.

 

In support of this we aim to:

  • Diversify our collections to reflect the diversity of the University’s population and to celebrate the many cultures that are reflected in our community
  • Encourage the development of collections created by and representative of marginalized and underrepresented groups
  • Promote diverse voices in current collections
  • Support the critical evaluation of sources of information through information skills library instruction and training to ensure different perspectives are recognised
  • Promote our library spaces as inclusive spaces where all users feel welcome and included
  • Advocate for diverse groups through library displays and exhibitions
  • Publicize our diversity initiatives and progress

What we have done so far

  • We are working with students and staff on our collections to reflect the diversity of the University’s population and to celebrate the various cultures that are reflected in our community.
  • We are working with academic colleagues and University departments to develop and promote reading lists to aid understanding of diversity issues.
  • We have had a number of onsite and online displays on diversity themes, including Black History Month, Pride, and other celebrations.
  • We are ordering and adding to stock a new collection on behalf of the EDI team.

 

We thank the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Office for supporting our library collections development.

► Checkout the Equality Diversity and Inclusion Collection


Get Involved

Students

The library wants your suggestions for new material to add to our collections that cover overlooked voices and under-represented communities. Please submit your suggestion to Library.GalwayMayo@atu.ie and we’ll do our best to make the library collections more inclusive.

Staff

We are looking for academic colleagues to work with us on diversifying our collections. If you are looking for assistance with developing collections to support a developing curriculum, please get in touch with your Subject Librarian.


Recent items added to our collections 

eBooks (click on book image to read the book online, ATU email address and password required)

Black Fatigue : How Racism Erodes the Mind, Body, and Spirit
Seeking Sanctuary : Stories of Sexuality, Faith and Migration
Trans* in College : Transgender Students' Strategies for Navigating Campus Life and the Institutional Politics of Inclusion
Unheard Voices: A Collection of Narratives by Black, Gay & Bisexual Men
They/Them/Their : A Guide to Nonbinary and Genderqueer Identities
Sites of Resistance : Gypsies, Roma and Travellers in School, Community and the Academy
Trans Power : Own Your Gender
Unwelcome Guests : A History of Access to American Higher Education
A History of Women in Men's Clothes : From Cross-Dressing to Empowerment
Your Students, My Students, Our Students : Rethinking Equitable and Inclusive Classrooms
Ending Ageism, or How Not to Shoot Old People
Supporting Transgender and Non-Binary Students and Staff in Further and Higher Education
‘Insubordinate Irish‘ : Travellers in the Text
Seeing Through Race
Women in Tech : A Practical Guide to Increasing Gender Diversity and Inclusion
Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health : Understanding the Spectrum of Gender and Sexuality
Disability Studies : Educating for Inclusion

Books (click on book image to get shelf number)

Kicking and screaming : dragging Ireland into the 21st century
Queer
Disability, society, and the individual
What white people can do next : from allyship to coalition
Notes on a nervous planet
Diversity & cultural awareness in nursing practice
Transformative approaches to social justice education : equity and access in the college classrooms

EDI in Literature 

I know why the caged bird sings
Oranges are not the only fruit
The curious incident of the dog in the night-time
The long song
To kill a mockingbird
Girl, woman, other

 

Safe Space

Diversity is....

"The practice or quality of including or involving people from a range of different social and ethnic backgrounds and of different genders, sexual orientations, etc.".

Oxford English Dictionary Online.

EDI Literacy Glossary

© Athena Swan Ireland and Advance HE

Athena SWAN Bronze Award

ATU Galway-Mayo are delighted to have achieved the Athena SWAN Bronze Award.

The Athena SWAN charter is a framework that is used across the globe to support and transform gender equality in higher education and research. This award recognises a solid foundation for eliminating gender bias and developing an inclusive culture. 

Learn More

LinkedIn Learning provides a number of curated, online courses based on a variety of topics that may be of interest. 

Here are two key learning paths

Or try a course in unconscious bias or learn about inclusive mindset.


We have compiled some useful resources which you can use to keep your mind healthy.

See Support Services.

Connect with us:

Facebook Instagram Blog Twitter YouTube


library@gmit.ie | Galway City, Dublin Road 091-742785 | Galway City, Wellpark Road 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Connemara 091-742666