Architectural Technology

Library skills training and information sessions are available to all students and staff.

Training sessions are an easy way to learn about and explore the wide range of resources and services that are available to support your studies or teaching.

Examples of information skills training include:

1. Library inductions
2. Information sources
3. Using the online library
4. Copyright and plagiarism
5. Citing and referencing
6. Using electronic resources
7. Bibliographic database searching
8. Reference management

Training courses can be delivered using a variety of teaching methods and formats including:

• One-to-one training
• Group training
• Demonstrations
• Presentations
• Online tutorials

We offer a timetable of scheduled training sessions. You can arrange a session by contacting Library.GalwayMayo.atu.ie or come along to a drop-in session.

ATU offers a “Learning & Innovation Skills” module (formerly Learning 2 Learn, L2L) as a mandatory module in the first year of its undergraduate programmes. The module was designed to help students develop the learning skills needed to meet the demands of third-level study and to ease their transition from second to third level.

The library covers the following modules:

• Information Sources
  Primary &secondary sources, academic books, scholarly journals, peer review, comparison of Google and Library databases, Dewey and how to locate a book on the shelves.


• Using the Online library
  Searching the library collections using Search + Find, explaining how facets work, setting up library pin numbers, interbranch request forms online, brief outline of databases and evaluating resources.


• Copyright & Plagiarism
  Definition of copyright and plagiarism, what they are, what you must do to avoid plagiarism.


• Citation & Referencing
  Outline of the Harvard Style of Referencing the manual way.

Booking requests can be made by staff for students by contacting Library.GalwayMayo.atu.ie

More Information:

Incoming First Years ATU

Most library training sessions take place in the Library in either the Training Room or the IT Room. Trainers are willing to go to classrooms if a group is too large to be accommodated in the Library, although it is preferable to split large groups up for more effective results.

Sessions covering the Online Library, Database Searching and EndNote citation software will all require access to pcs for the trainer and trainees.

If you are unable to attend a library session, please note that many of our tutorials are available online, including Searching the Online Catalogue, Setting up a Library PIN, Placing Holds, Searching Online Databases and Setting up an EndNote Account.

All of our online tutorials are available on the Library's YouTube channel.

Drop-in training sessions usually take place from November to April and are advertised within the Library and also on our library calendar. Please keep an eye out for any sessions you are interested in attending, if a particular time does not suit you it may be available at a different time the following week. Engineering students are welcome to contact your Subject Librarian with training enquiries.

Groups are usually booked in by lecturers / tutors, but students may book sessions for smaller groups themselves.