Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Centre on the Developing Child, Harvard University
Irish Times Digital Archive
ATU Library provides access to the full archive of the Irish Times with over 150 years of Irish Times journalism, as it originally appeared in print. Searchable by keyword and date, ATU patrons can view reproductions of every page of The Irish Times from 1859 to up to two weeks ago.
Search Tips to search the Irish Times archive
- To find an exact phrase place quotation marks around your search terms, e.g. "early childhood education".
- The archive will automatically return articles that include all of the search terms.
- The search results are automatically sorted by the oldest articles first; this can be changed to sort by the newest articles, or by the articles that closest match the search terms.
- Remember that specific areas can be accessed individually under 'section' when you choose to 'Filter results by'.
Irish News Resources
The Irish Times is available in print and online. The Irish Independent and the Irish Examiner are both available full text online.
The library holds a number of local and regional papers including:
- Connaught Telegraph
- Connacht Tribune
- Mayo News
- Western People
The Irish Newspapers Archives is an online database of Irish Newspapers from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland's past. With many of Ireland's most prominent regional, daily and out of print titles this database holds digitized archived regional and national Irish newspapers. This means that you can view the newspapers exactly as they would have appeared in their print version.
International News Resources
| Galway City, Dublin Road 091-742785 | Galway City, Wellpark Road 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Connemara 091-742666