Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tourism: Databases

Library databases are online collections of quality journals, magazines, newspapers and other academic sources.

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects. 

Which database you use depends on what you’re looking for.

It’s a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes most of our databases, so you can search across several databases at once. However, do remember that not all of our databases are indexed on Search + Find.

Click on the Databases button on the library website to:

  • see a full listing of our databases
  • see which ones are indexed on Search + Find
  • search each database individually

 

Recommended Databases for Tourism

OmniFile Full Text Mega

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: Wide range of subjects including tourism and business

Academic Search Complete

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: Wide range of subjects including tourism and business

Academic Search Ultimate

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, zoology, and many more

JSTOR Ireland Collection

Content: Full-text journal articles and book chapters

Subjects: Arts, culture and history

Irish Times Online

Content: Newspaper articles

Subjects: The Irish Times newspaper digital archive dating back to 1859

Irish Newspaper Archives

Content: Newspaper articles

Subjects: Digital archive of regional and national Irish newspapers

Vocational Studies Complete

This database contains full-text journals and a selection of full-text books. Key subjects include biotechnology, computer and data processing, cosmetology, electrical technology, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, paralegal studies, robotics and tourism.


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie