Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Culinary Arts: Databases

Library databases are online collections of quality journals, magazines, newspapers and other academic sources.

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects. 

Which database you use depends on what you’re looking for.

It’s a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes most of our databases, so you can search across several databases at once. However, do remember that not all of our databases are indexed on Search + Find.

Click on the Databases button on the library website to:

  • see a full listing of our databases
  • see which ones are indexed on Search + Find
  • search each database individually

 

Recommended Databases for Culinary Arts

OmniFile Full Text Mega

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: A wide range of topics including hospitality, catering, nutrition and health and safety

Academic Search Complete

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: A wide range of topics including hospitality, catering, nutrition and health and safety

Academic Search Ultimate

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection spans a broad range of areas of academic study including: biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies law, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology and many more.

Vocational Studies Complete

This database contains full-text journals and a selection of full-text books. Key subjects include biotechnology, health information technology, interior design, paralegal studies and tourism.

ScienceDirect

Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. The Journal Backfiles consists of a historical archive of over four million articles going back from 1994 as far as 1823.

Web of Science

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie