Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Heritage: Databases

Library databases are online collections of quality journals, magazines, newspapers and other academic sources.

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects. 

Which database you use depends on what you’re looking for.

It’s a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes most of our databases, so you can search across several databases at once. However, do remember that not all of our databases are indexed on Search + Find.

Click on the Databases button on the library website to:

  • see a full listing of our databases
  • see which ones are indexed on Search + Find
  • search each database individually

 

Recommended Databases for Heritage

OmniFile Full Text Mega

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: Wide range of subjects including history, arts and culture

JSTOR Ireland Collection

Content: Full-text journal articles and book chapters

Subjects: History, Arts and Culture with a rich focus on Ireland

Academic Search Complete

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: Wide range of subjects including history, archaeology, arts and culture

Academic Search Ultimate

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: Wide range of subjects including history, archaeology, arts and culture

Irish Times Online

Content: Newspaper articles

Subjects: The Irish Times newspaper digital archive dating back to 1859

Irish Newspaper Archives

Content: Newspaper articles

Subjects: Digital archive of regional and national Irish newspapers

Dictionary of Irish Biography

Content: Reference work

Subjects: Biographies of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland throughout history to the present time.

Irish Statute Book

Content: Irish legislation

Subjects: Acts of the Oireachtas, Statutory Instrutments and the Irish Constitution


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie