There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Search Ultimate and Omnifile Fulltext Mega cover a wider range of subjects.
Which database you use depends on what you’re looking for.
It’s a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes most of our databases, so you can search across several databases at once. However, do remember that not all of our databases are indexed on Search + Find.
Click on the Databases button on the library website to:
OmniFile Full Text Mega provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals. Coverage goes back as early as 1982 and ensures that every search is as deep as it is broad. Users have access to information on virtually any subject. Subject areas include - Education - Science - Humanities - Social Sciences - Applied Science & Technology - Art - Literature - Agriculture
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many more
Journals and other resources across the arts, humanities, and sciences in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics, and biology. Materials span from the 1780s to the present, providing a rich focus on Ireland.
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counselling, film, health, history, music, and more.
The IRISH TIMES ONLINE Archive gives GMIT patrons access to the searchable archive of articles dating back to 1859, the first year of publication. The last 12 months of archives are free to access.
The archive contains both a digital version of the newspaper back to 1859 and a text version of articles back to 1996. There is a week’s delay from publication in the digital version being uploaded to the archive.
The Digital Edition is an exact electronic copy of The Irish Times newspaper in the format of the print issue.
The Irish Newspapers Archives is the world's largest online database of Irish Newspapers from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland's past. With many of Ireland's most prominent regional, daily and out of print titles, including: *The Connaght Tribune * The Connaght Sentinel *Irish Independent * Sunday Independent
This database holds digitized archived regional and national Irish newspapers. This means that you can view the newspapers exactly as they would have appeared in their print version.