Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Design and Innovation: Home

Design and Innovation banner

 

This guide is intended to provide key academic resources on Design Innovation and Design Thinking. Hopefully, it will answer most of the questions that you have about the library resources.

 


Starting with Design Thinking

Learn what design thinking is and how to start applying the principles, process, mindset, and techniques.
 


This online workshop is recommended for those new to design thinking who would like to learn the basics and even get ready for starting a design thinking project or process. Receive a certificate of completion when you complete all of the workshop modules. 

 

Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Design_Thinking_process_in_the_Chapters_Dialogue_project.png


Use different types of sources in your writing

Good assignments and high quality academic writing makes use of different kinds of high quality resources.

In this guide we offer advice on what kind of resources to use and how to find them.

Examples are:

  • Books and eBooks
  • Journal Articles
  • Databases
  • Newspapers 
  • Standards

See our Search Tips Guide for more information.

Top Databases for Design & Innovation

 

Academic Search Ultimate supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

 

 

ScienceDirect is one of the largest databases subscribed to by the library, with lots of engineering related articles.

 

Web of Science image

 

Web of Science provides comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines.

 

 

Business Source Complete imageBusiness Source Complete provides premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. disciplines.

 

 

Search our Collections using Search + Find

Search for books, articles, news and more in our library discovery service.

Search + Find Logo

When you find the book you want you'll see its shelf number, this will help you find it in the library.

For online items, like ebooks, click on the 'Full Text' link to read it or download it!

60 minutes: Design Thinking
Login with GMIT credentials to watch video

d.School

Useful Facilitator Resources


Kathryn Briggs is your subject Librarian, if you need any help just ask for me in the Library,  email me or schedule an online appointment via Teams.

online library 24/7

Postgraduate LibGuide

Useful advice and support for stages in your research journey

Research Skills LibGuide

Useful advice on finding, managing, evaluating and using information

Look out for the green engineering logo in the library to help you find key sources in engineering

Connect with us:

Facebook Instagram Blog Twitter YouTube


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie