Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Design and Innovation: Databases

 

Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects.

Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for, it's a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes a large number of our collections. You must bear in mind however that Search + Find does not cover every single database, so it is important to have a look at each database individually and to become familiar with how to search them.

Top Databases for Design & Innovation

 

Academic Search Complete image

Academic Search Complete supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

 

 

ScienceDirect is one of the largest databases subscribed to by the library, with lots of engineering related articles.

 

Web of Science image

 

Web of Science provides comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines.

 

 

Business Source Complete imageBusiness Source Complete provides premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. disciplines.

 

 


Emerald Archives access back issues of journals in engineering, applied science and technology.


Most of the library databases are searchable using the library's discover service; Search + Find. Type in your keywords, when you find the article or document you want, click on its title. You will need to login using your GMTI email address and network password. This will bring you into the database where you can view, print, download or cite the article.

 

The following databases are not searchable using Search + Find, you must search them separately:

i2i National Standards Database
Info4Education
The Irish Newspaper Archive
The Irish Times Online

Search the eJournals list if you know the title of the journal, newspaper, or magazine you are looking for or you can browse by subject.


Watch this short animation to see what tips and features to use when searching library databases. 

The library is pleased to provide access to selected free trials during term time on campus, see free trials to avail of our current trials.

Google Scholar Search

Connect with us:

Facebook Instagram Blog Twitter YouTube


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie