Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education and Teaching: Home

Welcome to the Library!

This guide will help you:

  • find books, ebooks, journal articles and other information sources
  • manage your references and avoid plagiarism. 

Getting Started

Information can come from many different places...books, journal articles, websites and social media to name a few.

It's good practice to include a variety of information sources when you are gathering information for an assignment. This shows that you have researched your topic thoroughly and have evidence to support your writing.

A good start is to find some information from

  • books
  • journal or magazine articles
  • websites

And remember, don't rely on one source only.

Our Top Resources for Education

Start by searching the Library's Collection of books, ebooks, journal articles and more.

 

 

Recommended Databases for Education

Academic Search Ultimate

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, zoology, and many more

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

OmniFile Full Text Mega

OmniFile Full Text Mega provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals. Coverage goes back as early as 1982 and ensures that every search is as deep as it is broad. Users have access to information on virtually any subject. Subject areas include - Education - Science - Humanities - Social Sciences - Applied Science & Technology - Art - Literature - Agriculture

JSTOR Ireland Collection

Journals and other resources across the arts, humanities, and sciences in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics, and biology. Materials span from the 1780s to the present, providing a rich focus on Ireland.


library@gmit.ie | Galway City, Dublin Road 091-742785 | Galway City, Wellpark Road 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Connemara 091-742666