Skip to Main Content

EndNote Online

This guide shows how to use EndNote Online

Manually Add References

  1. Click “New Reference” under the “Collect” tab
  2. Select the reference type (e.g. book, journal) 
  3. Enter the bibliographic information into the appropriate fields (see EndNote Reference examples A-Z to check what fields to enter for each reference type).
  4. Click 'Save'

 

 

Tips:

When entering authors:

  • Use the format Last Name, First Name (e.g. Smith, John)
  • Enter each author on a new line
  • For corporate authors, enter a comma at the end of the name e.g. World Health Organisation,

Export from Search + Find (Eolas)

  • Go to https://library.gmit.ie in your internet browser
  • Click in the Search + Find search window
  • Enter your search term

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Click on the title you require. To the right of the resulting page, you will see icons as shown below:
  • Click on the 'Export' button
  • An export manager will appear. Select 'Direct export to EndNote Web'. Your reference will be sent to your EndNote library

 

 

This method can also be used for many of our EBSCO databases, including:

  • Academic Search Ultimate
  • Business Source Complete
  • CINAHL Complete
  • ERIC
  • GreenFILE
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Hospitality & Tourism Complete
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega
  • Regional Business News
  • SPORTDiscus
  • UK & Ireland Reference Centre
  • Vocational Studies Complete

Exporting References from Databases

Web of Science

  1. Perform your search and select the title you require

  2. Click on the ‘Export’ button and choose ‘EndNote Online’.

  3. Click ‘Export’ again

  4. Your reference will be added (a symbol will appear to show it has been added to EndNote). 

 

 

Use the method above to export references from the following databases:

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  • ISI Science Citation Index
  • Social Science Citation Index

Science Direct

  1. Perform your search and select the title you require
  2. Click on the ‘Cite’ button and choose ‘Export Citation to RIS’.
  3. A file will be downloaded to your computer
  4. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password.
  5. The reference is now exported to EndNote

 

JSTOR

  1. Perform your search and select the title you require
  2. Click the ‘Cite’ button on the top right of the screen
  3. Choose ‘Export a RIS file’ from the options at the bottom
  4. A file will be downloaded to your computer
  5. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password.
  6. The reference is now exported to EndNote

 

 

PubMed

  1. Perform your search and select the title you require
  2. Click ‘Send to’ and ‘Citation Manager’
  3. Click ‘Create file’
  4. A file will be downloaded to your computer
  5. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password.
  6. The reference is now exported to EndNote

 

 

Emerald

  1. Conduct your search and click on the title you want

  2. After the Abstract, you will see an example of the citation of this reference and a link to ‘Download as .RIS’. Click this link.

  3. The file will download to your computer

  4. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password. The reference is now exported to EndNote

 

 

 

Google Books

  1. Click on the title you require

  2. Click ‘About this book’ halfway down the screen

  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page

  4. Click the ‘Refman’ button (not EndNote!)

  5. Open the downloaded file

  6. References are exported to EndNote Online

 

Google Scholar

  1. Click the   button on the top left of the screen and then the ‘Settings’ button

  2. Under ‘Bibliography Manager’ (at bottom of page), select ‘RefMan’

  3. Click ‘Save’

  4. Conduct your search

  5. Click ‘Import into RefMan’ under the reference you want

  6. Log into your EndNote Online account, if requested

  7. References are exported to EndNote

 

Biomed Central

  1. Perform your search and select the title you require
  2. Click ‘Cite this article’
  3. Choose ‘Download citation’
  4. A file will be downloaded to your computer
  5. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password.
  6. The reference is now exported to EndNote

 

A picture containing text Description automatically generatedESRI

  1. Perform your search and select the title you require
  2. Click ‘Cite this publication’ on the right
  3. Choose ‘RIS’
  4. A file will be downloaded to your computer
  5. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password.
  6. The reference is now exported to EndNote
  7. Check the ‘Reference type’ is correct for your reference and amend accordingly

 

 

Sage Research Methods

  1. Perform your search and select the title you require
  2. Click the ‘Cite’ button        
  3. Choose ‘EndNote’ and ‘Export’
  4. A file will be downloaded to your computer
  5. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password.
  6. The reference is now exported to EndNote

 

 

Springer Open

  1. Perform your search and select the title you require
  2. Click ‘Cite this article’   
  3. Choose ‘Download citation’
  4. A file will be downloaded to your computer
  5. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password.
  6. The reference is now exported to EndNote

 

Taylor & Francis

  1. Perform your search and select the title you require

  2. Click ‘Download citation’

  3. Choose format ‘RIS’

  4. ‘Download citations’

  5. A file will be downloaded to your computer

  6. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password.

  7. The reference is now exported to EndNote

 

 

Academic Video Online

  1. Choose the video you require
  2. Click the ‘Cite’ button
  3. Click ‘Download RIS format’ on the right-hand side
  4. A file will be downloaded to your computer
  5. Open the downloaded file, enter your email and EndNote Online password.
  6. The reference is now exported to EndNote

 

 

Online Search

  1. From the 'Collect' tab in EndNote Online, select the 'Online Search' button
  2. Select the library catalogue you require from the drop-down menu (e.g. National University of Ireland - Galway, PubMed)
  3. Click 'Connect' and then enter your search term
  4. Tick the box(s) of the reference(s) you want to send to your EndNote library (note it is not in your library yet)
  5. Use the drop-down menu at the top of the results list to add your results to your 'Unfiled' group or to any groups already set up

 

Capture References

You can use the ‘Capture Reference’ bookmark for online resources such as webpages that do not have options for direct export.

 

Install the Capture Bookmark
  • Go to EndNote Online
  • Click the Downloads tab
  • Drag the Capture References button to your bookmarks or favourites bar in your browser or right click and select 'add to favourites' or 'bookmark this link

 

How to Capture a Reference

Once you have installed the bookmark:

  • Browse the web until you have a particular article or webpage for which you would like to create a reference
  • Click the 'Capture reference' bookmark in your browser and it will scan for bibliographic information
  • A window will open with some fields already filled out. Check for the correct reference type and that all appropriate fields are filled out correctly. Amend accordingly.
  • Save to 'my.endnote.com'

 

 

Import References from Databases

Some databases do not offer direct export to EndNote Online, so you need to import the references instead:

  1. Search a database
  2. Select the record(s) you would like to add
  3. Select a file format, such as 'RIS' or 'EndNote'
  4. Save the file
  5. Go to EndNote Online. In the 'Collect' tab, select 'Import References'
  6. Under File: browse for the saved file from your computer
  7. Use the 'Import option' drop down menu to select the database or format you require (Tip: try Refman RIS, if you're not sure)
  8. Select the group to you which you want to add the reference to or add it to your 'Unfiled' list
  9. Click 'Import'

 

 


Library@atu.ie