Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering: Databases

Welcome to your subject guide for engineering

 

Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.

 

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects.

 

Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for, it's a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes a large number of our collections. You must bear in mind however that Search + Find does not cover every single database, so it is important to have a look at each database individually and to become familiar with how to search them.


Key Engineering Databases

IHS Markit

IHS Markit

Irish Construction Information Service Plus by IHS is a huge resource for all aspects of construction and engineering. All the information found on this database is provided by reputable organisations and all the information found is in full text PDF format.

ScienceDirect

Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. 

Academic Search Ultimate

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many more

i2i National Standards

i2i National Standards

Designed to provide lecturers and students with accurate and up to date full text access to current NSAI Irish Standards: straight IS (Irish Standards) EN (European Norms) and ISO (International Organisation for Standardisation).

Other Engineering Databases

        

GreenFILE

Comprehensive resource drawing on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

 

INIS

Hosts one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology.
 

Accessing Databases

Most of the library databases are searchable using Search + Find. Type in your keywords, when you find the article or document you want, click on its title. You will need to login using your GMIT email address and network password. This will bring you into the database where you can view or print the article.

 

The following databases are not searchable using Search + Find, you must search them separately:

i2i National Standards
IHS Markit
Irish Newspapers Archive
The Irish Times Online

Tip!

Search the eJournals list if you know the title of the journal, newspaper, or magazine you are looking for or you can browse by subject.

 

Watch this short animation to see what tips and features to use when searching library databases

Google Scholar Search

Free Trials

The library is pleased to provide access to selected free trials during term time on campus, see free trials to avail of our current trials.

Connect with us:

Facebook Instagram Blog Twitter YouTube


library@gmit.ie | Galway City, Dublin Road 091-742785 | Galway City, Wellpark Road 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Connemara 091-742666