Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering: News Sources

Welcome to your subject guide for engineering

News sources

 

This guide highlights the print and electronic sources of current and historical news resources of GMIT Libraries. The guide also provides links to selected internet news websites.

 

Newspaper articles are great research tools. They can keep you up to date on current affairs and are useful for identifying key trends and reviewing analysis of particular issues. The Library holds regional, national and international newspapers in print for viewing in the library only. You can access many different newspapers from historical scanned originals to the most current Irish newspapers online through our e-resources subscriptions.

Online Newspapers

 

Irish Newspaper Archives     

Irish Newspaper Archives is the world's largest online database of Irish Newspapers from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland's past from the 1700's to current day. With many of Ireland's most prominent regional, daily and out of print titles indexed, this database holds digitized archived regional and national Irish newspapers. This means that you can view the newspapers exactly as they would have appeared in their print version.
 
Key newspapers include:
 
  • Irish Examiner
  • Irish Farmer’s Journal
  • Irish Independent
  • Sunday Independent
  • View coverage list

Watch this short video on searching the Irish Newspaper Archives.


The Irish Times Online

Explore over 150 years of Irish Times journalism, as it originally appeared in print. Searchable by keyword and date, digital subscribers can view reproductions of every page of The Irish Times from 1859 to the present day.

 

â–ºSign up for your Irish Times Online Free Student Account 


Regional Business News

This database provides ultimate coverage for full text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada.

 

News on the Web

 

Check out Newspaperindex.com for a free listing of online newspapers in all Countries in the World.

Here's some popular ones:


The following newspapers are a available in print to read in the Galway campus during term time.

Local Papers:

National Papers:

International Papers:

Engineering News

Engineers Ireland News gives the latest news from the professional body for engineers in Ireland.

The Engineers Journal provides readers with the latest news and views from the engineering and technology sectors in Ireland and internationally.

The Engineer website is the UK’s leading online resource for the engineering industry offering users the latest news and features, product news,  video, blogs, podcasts, webinars and forthcoming events for the engineering technology sector.

The Student Engineer  is a dedicated channel of The Engineer aimed at student and graduate engineers. The site provides the latest jobs information as well as news on the latest opportunities and expert advice on how students can secure their first jobs in the engineering industry.

Need Help?

Email us: library@gmit.ie

Call us: +353 (091) 742785

Ask us: Staff are here to help!

Connect with us:

Facebook Instagram Blog Twitter YouTube


library@gmit.ie | Galway City, Dublin Road 091-742785 | Galway City, Wellpark Road 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Connemara 091-742666