Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eResources & Databases: Home

Information on the online collections available in GMIT

 

GMIT Library provides access to a huge range of e-resources (electronic resources) to support you in your studies, research and teaching -  including subject databases, abstract and indexing databases, e-journals and e-books.

Which resource you use depends on what you’re looking for, it’s a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes a large number of our eResources along with our physical collections.

               

Top Databases

ScienceDirect

Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. 

Academic Search Ultimate

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, materials science, mathematics, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and many more.

Web of Science

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

It's normal to find the research process or studying at third-level challenging. That's why you should be aware of the full range of help and support that is available to you as a registered GMIT student and not allow yourself to get overwhelmed.

help Slide

Search Tips

When your search is focused, your chances of finding relevant quality information increases and you will spend less time reading irrelevant material.


EndNote helps you organise your research.

EndNote allows you to:

  • Create a personal reference library to quickly and easily collect references from online sources.
  • Use 'Cite While You Write' in Microsoft Word to insert references and automatically create bibliographies for your papers.

EndNote is available for all students and staff at GMIT. For authentication purposes you need to register on campus.

The Library provides training on EndNote throughout the year. Please check our calendar for the training schedule.

A comprehensive guide to using Endnote is available here. Please note you will need to login with your staff/student ID no and library PIN to view / download this document.


Google Scholar Search

Need Help?

Ask us: Staff are here to help!

Live Chat: library.gmit.ie

Email us: library@gmit.ie

Call us: +353 (091) 742784

Connect with us:

Facebook Instagram Blog Twitter YouTube


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie