Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Furniture Design & Technology: Home

Guide to GMIT Library for Furniture Industry students

Welcome to the Library.

I'm Suzanne Rushe, your Subject Librarian for Furniture Design & Technology, if you need any help just ask in the Library or email me.


This is an introductory guide to help you find key, academic resources while studying at Letterfrack and show you how to make use of them. Hopefully, it will answer most of the questions that you have about the library resources.

 

The guide provides key information on engineering sources including:

  • Finding items in print and online; including books, journals & newspapers

  • Searching databases

  • Useful websites

  • Citation & referencing

  • Support & training


 

Top Furniture Industry Databases

Info4education

Info4education

Info4education provided by IHS is a huge resource for all aspects of construction and engineering. All the information found on this database is provided by reputable organisations and all the information found is in full text PDF format.

ScienceDirect

Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. 

Academic Search Ultimate

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many more

i2i National Standards

i2i National Standards

Designed to provide lecturers and students with accurate and up to date full text access to current NSAI Irish Standards: straight IS (Irish Standards) EN (European Norms) and ISO (International Organisation for Standardisation).

JSTOR Ireland Collection

Journals and other resources across the arts, humanities, and sciences in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics, and biology. Materials span from the 1780s to the present, providing a rich focus on Ireland.

►A-Z of Databases & eResources

 

Search our Collections

Search for books, articles, news and more in our library discovery service.

 

When you find the book you want you'll see its shelf number, this will help you find it in the library.

For online items, like ebooks, click on the link to read it or download it!

Useful Library Videos

Profile Photo
Suzanne Rushe
Contact:
GMIT Letterfrack
National Centre for Excellence in Furniture Design and Technology
Letterfrack
Co. Galway
H91 AH5K
+353 91 742666
Social: Twitter Page

Connect with us:

Facebook Instagram Blog Twitter YouTube


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie