LibGuides: Furniture Design & Technology: News Sources

This guide highlights the print and electronic sources of current and historical news resources of ATU Library. The guide also provides links to selected internet news websites.

Newspaper articles are great research tools. They can keep you up to date on current affairs and are useful for identifying key trends and reviewing analysis of particular issues. The Library holds regional, national and international newspapers in print for viewing in the library only. You can access many different newspapers from historical scanned originals to the most current Irish newspapers online through our e-resources subscriptions.

Online Newspapers

Nexis

Nexis provides full text access to articles from regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company profiles and country reports.

Irish Newspaper Archives

Irish Newspaper Archives is the world's largest online database of Irish Newspapers from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland's past from the 1700's to current day. With many of Ireland's most prominent regional, daily and out of print titles indexed, this database holds digitized archived regional and national Irish newspapers. This means that you can view the newspapers exactly as they would have appeared in their print version.

Key newspapers include:

Irish Examiner
Irish Farmer’s Journal
Irish Independent
Sunday Independent
View coverage list

Watch this short video on searching the Irish Newspaper Archives.

The Irish Times Online

Explore over 150 years of Irish Times journalism, as it originally appeared in print. Searchable by keyword and date, digital subscribers can view reproductions of every page of The Irish Times from 1859 to the present day.

►Sign up for your Irish Times Online Free Student Account

Regional Business News

This database provides ultimate coverage for full text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada.

View coverage list

News on the Web

Check out Newspaperindex.com for a free listing of online newspapers in all Countries in the World.

Here's some popular ones: