Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Heritage: Home

Welcome to the Library!

This guide will help you:

  • find books, ebooks, journal articles and other information sources
  • manage your references and avoid plagiarism. 

Getting Started

Information can come from many different places...books, journal articles, websites and social media to name a few.

It's good practice to include a variety of information sources when you are gathering information for an assignment. This shows that you have researched your topic thoroughly and have evidence to support your writing.

A good start is to find some information from

  • books
  • journal or magazine articles
  • websites

And remember, don't rely on one source only.

Our Top Resources for Heritage

Start by searching the Library's Collection of books, ebooks, journal articles and more.

 

Recommended Databases for Heritage

OmniFile Full Text Mega

Content: Full-text journal articles 

Subjects: History, Arts, Culture

JSTOR Ireland Collection

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: History, Arts and Culture with a rich focus on Ireland

Academic Search Complete

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: A wide range of topics including History, Arts and Culture

Academic Search Ultimate

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: A wide range of topics including history, archaeology, arts and culture

Dictionary of Irish Biography

Content: Reference work

Subjects: Biographies of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland throughout history to the present time.

Irish Newspaper Archives

Content: Newspaper articles

Subjects: Digital archive of regional and national Irish newspapers

Irish Times Online

Content: Newspaper articles

Subjects: The Irish Times newspaper digital archive dating back to 1859

Irish Statute Book

Content: Irish legislation

Subjects: Acts of the Oireachtas, Statutory Instrutments and the Irish Constitution

 


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie