Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business in Rural Enterprise & Agri: Referencing & Academic Integrity

Guide to GMIT Library for students of Business in Rural Enterprise and Agribusiness

 

Academic integrity is the moral code of academia.

You must have honesty, responsibility and fairness in your studies and acknowledge the work of others by giving credit where you have used other’s work.

Academic integrity means that GMIT staff, in their teaching and students, in their learning, are expected to treat others with respect - fairly and honestly at all times. Abusing, being deceitful or stealing work from others is not acceptable.

Academic integrity is important because it is the principal merit on which the colleges' learning, teaching and research accomplishments are fostered.

Academic Integrity is about conducting research, writing, and teaching with integrity and honesty.

 

All GMIT staff & students are responsible for maintaining academic integrity.


Why is referencing so important?

It is extremely important to cite and reference your sources in any work you produce for your assignments. Referencing is a way of acknowledging that you have used the ideas and written material belonging to another author. It demonstrates that you have searched the appropriate literature and that you have carried out reading on your topic. It enables anyone reading your work to look up your citations and read them for themselves.

Business Studies students are urged to read the School of Business Style Guide, available on your courses on Moodle and also from the School of Business Studies. This guide covers using the Harvard style of referencing among a wealth of other information for Business students to help with your research and assignments.

Citation information is also available in the Library's Referencing and Citing using the Harvard style citation guide, available online from the library website. 

A quick source of information on using the Harvard referencing system is available here.

The library provides training on citation and referencing skills as part of our input to the LIS module. If you are interested in signing up for this training session, please contact us.

Cite Them Right Online

Cite Them Right Online

The library has access to Cite Them Right online, a comprehensive guide to referencing almost anything you will come across in the course of your studies or research. Cite them right helps to reference a huge range of sources: books, journal articles, websites, legal documents... even graffiti and tweets!

Developed from the bestselling book Cite them right by Richard Pears and Graham Shields, which is used as the referencing standard at many academic institutions, Cite them right is renowned for its comprehensive coverage. There are editable examples, information on other standard referencing styles and guidance on why referencing is important. 

You can find out about the principles behind referencing and how to acknowledge the information sources that you use by launching the tutorial (made-up of 11 short, self-contained topics, which you can explore and revisit at any time). Or watch our recorded training session which shows you how to use the resource (registered GMIT users only).

Some referencing titles in GMIT Library

Other Useful LibGuides

Other Useful LibGuides

Harvard Referencing Style

The Library, in consultation with GMIT's Academic Council, have developed a referencing guide based on the Harvard citation style. The Harvard style is one of a myriad of citation styles available to students, but it is the most common one used in GMIT, and the one prescribed by the School of Business.

The important thing to remember when referencing is to be consistent with whatever style you are using.

The GMIT Harvard style is based on British Standard BS ISO 690: 2010. It is an author-date style, where you put the name of the author, the year the information was published and the relevant page number(s) in brackets after the quote or paraphrase in your document. At the end of the document you make a reference list of our sources, in a specific format.

There will be two parts to every reference you use:

  • The in text citation, where you refer to the information you have collected during your research, and
  • The reference list at the end of your text, which gives the full details of the works so that your readers can follow up for themselves

The comprehensive referencing guide developed by the Library describes in detail the rules of the Harvard style, along with examples of references for the various information sources you will use including books, ebooks, journal articles, newspapers, databases etc.

Referencing Software

The Library's search engine Search + Find, along with all our bibliographic databases (those that detail books and articles) have a citation export feature. The facility to create a reference to the article you are viewing in the Harvard style is available, note this is the reference only and not the in text citation.

If you wish to wish to use software to create both your citations and references, the Library recommends you use EndNote Basic, free software provided to GMIT staff and students from the Library. EndNote Basic allows users to create, store and manage references, up to 2GB storage per account, and it includes many other features for advanced researchers including an option to best match your work to a particular journal or journals.

The 'Cite While You Write' feature allows you to insert references from your EndNote library into a Word document, and it will automatically create and format your bibliography in MS Word.

The Library provides training on EndNote Basic throughout the year. Please check our calendar for the training schedule.

A comprehensive guide to using EndNote Basic is available here.


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie