The primary aim of standardization is to facilitate the exchange of goods and services through the elimination of procedural barriers to trade i.e. European Free Trade systems, and as a result provide benefits to consumers, users, manufacturers and suppliers.
Terminology, signs, symbols etc.
Describe the functions and structure/relationships within an organisation
Define characteristics of a product or service with performance thresholds
Detail test and analysis methods for products
The BSI (British Standards Institution) is the national standards body of the United Kingdom.
BSI produces technical standards on a wide range of products and services and also supplies certification and standards-related services to businesses.
The NSAI (National Standards Authority of Ireland) is Ireland's official standards body.
NSAI Standards is responsible for the development of Irish Standards, representing Irish interests in the work of the European and International standards bodies CEN/CENELEC and ISO/IEC, and for the publication and sale of Irish Standards.
As Ireland’s Official standards body, NSAI aims to inspire consumer confidence and create the infrastructure for products and services to be recognized and relied on, all over the world. Where a standard already exists, NSAI works with businesses to help them apply it. Where a standard may be needed, NSAI will work with relevant parties at national or international level to create and develop the appropriate standard. NSAI improves the performance of Irish business and protects consumers through the setting of standards and issuing of certification in the quality and safety of goods and services.
European Standards (EN) are standards that have been approved by the CEN - European Committee for Standardization, CENELEC - European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization or ETSI - European Telecommunications Standards Institute. They have the status of a national standard in all member countries of the European Union.
The Library provides access to the full text of standards via subscriptions to the following databases:
This database provides full text access to Irish (IS), European (EN) and International (ISO) standards.
Please note: Some standard require users to register for the service.
This database provides full text access to key building regulation British Standards.
Please note: Standards are not searchable via Search + Find you need to go to the Databases & eResources page from library.gmit.ie and click on the database name (i2i National Standards or IHS Markit) then search for the standard you require.
You can search for standards in these databases using either the Standard number, Title or Keyword, or by using the ICS codes in i2i.
Many Irish Standards (IS) are developed nationally or adapted from European or International standards and can be found in the i2i National Standards Database.