Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching & Learning: Books & eBooks

Finding Books in the Library

Each book that GMIT libraries acquire is assigned a Dewey number that identifies its subject matter. This number can be found on the spine of the book. As Dewey is a numerical system the books are arranged on the shelves in numerical order. The following is the ten main classes of the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system.

000 Computer science, information & general works
100 Philosophy & psychology
200 Religion
300 Social sciences
400 Language
500 Science
600 Technology
700 Arts & recreation
800 Literature
900 History & geography


001-499 & 700-999 are on the Ground Floor
500-699 are on the First Floor

DDC - The Hundreds Division

Classification - how books are shelved

Search Google Books

Google Book Search

Recommend a Book

Found a book we haven't got that you think should be part of our collection?

Just email us the details.

Browsing Books and eBooks

Search for books and ebooks in Search + Find, our library discovery service.

When you find the book you want you’ll see a shelf number for print books, this will help you find it in the library. For ebooks, simply click on the link to read it online or download it (you’ll need a library PIN to do this).

 

Search + Find

 

Recommended Reading

Finding eBooks

eBooks, electronic version of a printed books which can be read online are available from several different sources, you can search individual collections by clicking on the collection title below or search all collections using Search + Find.

ProQuest eBook Centraln

Our biggest collection, providing access to more than 130,000 individual titles across most disciples.

DawsonEra

This collection includes 200 ebooks which we currently own or rent.

MyiLibrary

Contains ebooks covering social sciences, literature and technology.

 


Download ebooks on loan

Search, find and use ebrary ebooks

 

Can't Find What You Are Looking For?

We have thousands of books, journal articles and reports in print and online but we don't have access to everything. So, if you find that we don’t hold an item that you need, you can use our Documeny Supply Service. This service provides access to books and journal articles which are held at other libraries in the Ireland and overseas.


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie