Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching & Learning: Databases

T&L banner

 

Library databases are online collections that search quality journal, magazine, newspaper and other academic sources.

 

There are so many databases because there is so much information. There is no one database that covers all the resources available. Some databases will be directly focused on your subject, while others, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete cover a wider range of subjects.

 

Which databases you use depends on what you're looking for, it's a good idea to start with Search + Find because it indexes a large number of our collections. You must bear in mind however that Search + Find does not cover every single database, so it is important to have a look at each database individually and to become familiar with how to search them.


Key Databases

ScienceDirect

Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. 

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: civil engineering, engineering and many more.

Web of Science

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

Times Higher Education

Times Higher Education is the UK's most authoritative source of information about higher education.

Contact the library for username and password.

Accessing Databases

Most of the library databases are searchable using Search + Find. Type in your keywords, when you find the article or document you want, click on its title. You will need to login using your GMIT email address and network password. This will bring you into the database where you can view or print the article.

 

The following databases are not searchable using Search + Find, you must search them separately:

i2i National Standards
IHS Markit
Irish Newspapers Archive
The Irish Times Online

Watch this short animation to see what tips and features to use when searching library databases

Google Scholar Search

Free Trials

The library is pleased to provide access to selected free trials during term time on campus, see free trials to avail of our current trials.

Connect with us:

Facebook Instagram Blog Twitter YouTube


library@gmit.ie | Galway City, Dublin Road 091-742785 | Galway City, Wellpark Road 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Connemara 091-742666