Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tourism: Home

Welcome to the Library!

This guide will help you:

  • find books, ebooks, journal articles and other information sources
  • manage your references and avoid plagiarism. 

Getting Started

Information can come from many different places...books, journal articles, websites and social media to name a few.

It's good practice to include a variety of information sources when you are gathering information for an assignment. This shows that you have researched your topic thoroughly and have evidence to support your writing.

A good start is to find some information from

  • books
  • journal or magazine articles
  • websites

And remember, don't rely on one source only.

Our Top Resources for Tourism

Start by searching the Library's Collection of books, ebooks, journal articles and more.

 

Recommended Databases for Tourism

Hospitality and Tourism Complete

A full-text database covering all areas of hospitality and tourism, including hospitality law, market trends, food and beverage management and hotel management. Coverage: full-text journals, magazines, company and country reports, books and newspapers.

OmniFile Full Text Mega

Content: Full-text journal articles 

Subjects: A wide range of topics including hospitality, catering, nutrition and health and safety

Academic Search Complete

Content: Full-text journal articles

Subjects: A wide range of topics including hospitality, catering, nutrition and health and safety

Academic Search Ultimate

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this covers a broad range of important areas of study including: biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, zoology, and many more

Vocational Studies Complete

This database contains full-text journals and a selection of full-text books. Key subjects include biotechnology, computer and data processing, cosmetology, electrical technology, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, paralegal studies, robotics and tourism.

ScienceDirect

Science Direct contains over 11 million articles on science, technology and computer science. Journal coverage includes over 2,500 authoritative titles. The Journal Backfiles consists of a historical archive of over four million articles going back from 1994 as far as 1823.


Galway 091-742785 | CCAM 091-745409 | Mayo 094-9043146 | Letterfrack 091-742666 | library@gmit.ie